November 16, 2020 – November 17, 2020
9:00 am – 4:00 pm EST
Online (Zoom link to be provided to registrants)

NEROC Fifth Annual Radio Science Symposium (2020)

Fireside Chat format

This year’s Fifth Annual NEROC Symposium will feature a welcoming and participatory “fireside chat” format that includes several single-themed, small-panel discussions.

Each Fireside Chat will include a single moderator, three or four panelists, and time for discussion with the audience. The moderator will facilitate the conversation; each panelist will briefly address aspects of the theme. Community members will then have the opportunity to discuss various aspects of the ideas presented.

The Fireside Chats all provide an opportunity for the panelists and audience to help craft action items together for the NEROC community. At the end of the symposium, each moderator will present the action items and a summary of the discussion in a wrap-up session.

Fireside Chat topics for 2020:

  • Polar radio science
  • Radio science education
  • Traveling ionospheric disturbances
  • Radio science in space

Virtual poster session: Call for submissions

Posters are solicited for a virtual session. Posters will be available on-line as PDFs.  In addition, each presenter will be asked to upload a 3-minute presentation for a poster lightning session.

Please register to present/attend by November 12, 2020 by clicking on “Registration” below.


Important Dates

Annual Radio Science Symposium 2020
November 16, 2020 – November 17, 2020
9:00 am – 4:00 pm EST

Keynote speakers

  • Min Yun (University of Massachusetts–Amherst), NEROC: Community Vision
  • Kazunori Akiyama (MIT Haystack Observatory), Black Holes with the Event Horizon Telescope: Past, Present, and Future

Program 2020

This year’s Fireside Chat panelists will be announced shortly, as will details regarding the virtual poster session. Links will be mailed Friday 13 November to registered attendees. All sessions will be conducted via Zoom.

Monday16 November 2020
9:00am–10:00am Welcome to NEROC 2020
Keynote: NEROC: Community Vision
Anthea Coster, MIT Haystack Observatory
Min Yun, UMass–Amherst
10:15am–12:15pmFireside Chat:
Traveling Ionospheric Disturbances
MODERATOR: Shunrong Zhang
Richard Fallows, ASTRON – the Netherlands
Toshi Nishimura, Boston University
Ivan Galkin, UMass–Lowell
Jim Labelle, Dartmouth College
1:00pm–2:00pmPoster and Networking SessionPOSTER PRESENTATIONS (italic: linked to PDF):
Abdelaziz Hussein, Boston University
Christopher Sterpka, University of New Hampshire
Emily Hudson, Dartmouth College
Cole Tamburri, University of Colorado–Boulder
Diego Sanchez, New Jersey Institute of Technology
2:00pm–4:00pmFireside Chat:
Radio Science Education
MODERATOR: Patricia Doherty, Boston College
John Swoboda, MIT Haystack Observatory
Julia Kregenow, Penn State University
Allan Weatherwax, Merrimack College
Anthea Coster, MIT Haystack Observatory
Tuesday17 November 2020
9:00am–10:00amKeynote: Photographing Black Holes with the Event Horizon Telescope: Past, Present, and Future Kazunori Akiyama, MIT Haystack Observatory
10:15am – 12:15pmFireside Chat:
Polar Radio Science
MODERATOR: Andrew Gerrard, New Jersey Institute of Technology
Marc Lessard, University of New Hampshire
Pedro Elosegui, MIT Haystack Observatory
Gareth Perry, New Jersey Institute of Technology
Larisa Goncharenko, MIT Haystack Observatory
1:00pm–2:00pmPoster and Networking Session POSTER PRESENTATIONS (italic: linked to PDF):
Ercha Aa, MIT Haystack Observatory
Lindsay Goodwin, New Jersey Institute of Technology
Larisa Goncharenko, MIT Haystack Observatory
Kotaro Moriyama, MIT Haystack Observatory
Sovit Khadka, New Jersey Institute of Technology
2:00pm–4:00pm Fireside Chat:
Radio Science in Space
MODERATOR: Phil Erickson, MIT Haystack Observatory
James Clemmons, University of New Hampshire
Michael Hecht, MIT Haystack Observatory
Kristina Lynch, Dartmouth College
Supriya Chakrabarti, UMass–Lowell
4:00pm–5:00pmWrap-up: Discussion and Action items MODERATOR: Anthea Coster, MIT Haystack Observatory

NEROC institutions

  • Boston College
  • Boston University
  • Brandeis University
  • Dartmouth College
  • Harvard-Smithsonian CfA
  • Harvard University
  • MIT
  • Merrimack College
  • UMass–Amherst
  • UMass–Lowell
  • UNH
  • Wellesley College
ErchaAaMIT Haystack Observatory
KazunoriAkiyamaMIT Haystack Observatory
ParisaBorhani DarianNortheastern University
SandraBustamanteUMass Amherst
SupriyaChakrabartiUMass Lowell
KristinaCollinsCase Western Reserve University
AntheaCosterMIT Haystack Observatory
GeoffreyCrewMIT Haystack Observatory
MarkCzerwinskiMIT Lincoln Laboratory
PatriciaDohertyBoston College
EliezerEhrenkranzUMass Amherst
PedroEloseguiMIT Haystack Observatory
PhilipEricksonMIT Haystack Observatory
RichardFallowsASTRON – the Netherlands Institute for Radio Astronomy
SusannaFinnUMass Lowell
VincentFishMIT Haystack Observatory
NathanielFrissellThe University of Scranton
IvanGalkinUMass Lowell, Space Science Lab
AaronGoldenNational University of Ireland Galway
LarisaGoncharenkoMIT Haystack Observatory
LindsayGoodwinNew Jersey Institute of Technology
MichaelHechtMIT Haystack Observatory
EmilyHudsonDartmouth College
AbdelazizHusseinBoston University
DevinHuyghebaertUniversity of Saskatchewan
WilliamIrvineUniversity of Massachusetts Amherst
HeidiJohnsonMIT Haystack Observatory
Dev RajJoshiThe University of Scranton
PatrickKamieneskiUniversity of Massachusetts Amherst
JensKauffmannMIT Haystack Observatory
SovitKhadkaNew Jersey Institute of Technology
SueKimUniversity at Buffalo
NancyKotaryMIT Haystack Observatory
KathleenKraemerBoston College
JamesLaBelleDartmouth College
CindyLeUniversity at Buffalo
CarlosMartinisBoston University
LynnMatthewsMIT Haystack Observatory
RussMcWhirterMIT Haystack Observatory
DhimanMondalMIT Haystack Observatory
KotaroMoriyamaMIT Haystack Observatory
SebastijanMrakBoston University
ArthurNiellMIT Haystack Observatory
ToshiNishimuraBoston University
DualtaO FionnagainNUIG
JonathanParhamMIT Lincoln Laboratory
GarethPerryNew Jersey Institute of Technology
RezyPradiptaBoston College
GaneshRajagopalanMIT Haystack Observatory
BodoReinischLowell Digisonde International
AlanRogersMIT Haystack Observatory
DiegoSanchezNew Jersey Institute of Technology
JohnSeneyTeledyne LeCroy (retired)
ChristopherSterpkaUniversity of New Hampshire
JohnSwobodaMIT Haystack Observatory
ColeTamburriUniversity of Colorado at Boulder
DavidThemensUniversity of Birmingham
ClaireTropDartmouth College
RyanVolzMIT Haystack Observatory
MinYunUniversity of Massachusetts, Amherst
ShunrongZhangMIT Haystack Observatory